The recently-opened Lufkin Middle School Cafeteria was home to a science fair competition a few days ago, and several LMS eighth-grade STEM Prep students excelled at the event.

STEM = Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics

The students placing in the top six will be moving on to the Region 7 Science Fair which will take place on the campus of Kilgore Junior College Kilgore on February 9.

The results

  • 1st Place – Nathan Acevedo
  • 2nd Place – Yovani Morales
  • 3rd Place – Sawyer Brightwell & Kevin Lin
  • 4th Place – Jeffrey Hernandez
  • 5th Place (tie)– Emma Kelly
  • 5th Place (tie) – Omar Garcia

The upcoming East Texas Regional State Fair in Kilgore is open to qualifying students in grades 6-12 enrolled in a public, private, parochial, military, or home school.

Region 7 students are represented by the following counties:

Delta County, San Augustine County, Marion County, Franklin County, Rains County, Sabine County, Morris County, Camp County, Red River County, Madison County, Leon County, Houston County, Panola County, Shelby County, Cass County, Wood County, Titus County, Hopkins County, Rusk County, Anderson County, Lamar County, Upshur County, Cherokee County, Henderson County, Nacogdoches County, Van Zandt County, Harrison County, Angelina County, Bowie County, Gregg County and Smith County.

Finalists in both the junior and senior divisions from the ETRSF will advance to the state Texas Science and Engineering Fair in College Station.

Contributed Photo/LISD
Contributed Photo/LISD

In photo from left to right:

  • Mollie Havard, Associate Principal
  • Tara Davis, 8th grade STEM prep teacher
  • Jennifer Stover, STEM Coordinator
  • Emma Kelly
  • Yovani Morales
  • Omar Garcia
  • Nathan Acevedo
  • Sawyer Brightwell
  • Andres Mijares, Principal

2023 UIL State Track & Field Medalists from Deep East Texas

Here's a look at the East Texas athletes who took home medals from the State Track & Field Meet in Austin

Gallery Credit: Danny Merrell

KICKS 105/Whataburger Teacher of the Day $1,000 Winners

Every semester KICKS 105 teams up with Whataburger to award an area teacher a $1,000 classroom grant. Here's a look at the winning teachers so far.

Gallery Credit: Danny Merrell

More From Kicks 105