One of our favorite dates on the Merrell in the Morning Show is the yearly visit from the Leadership Tomorrow class of Angelina County.  And this morning, they did not disappoint as these high school juniors from area schools proved why they are considered to be some of the best in their school and community. 

Leadership Tomorrow was developed for high school juniors and is hosted by the Lufkin/Angelina Chamber of Commerce. The program mirrors the Leadership Lufkin program. Students in the program have the opportunity to learn about Angelina County firsthand, to explore opportunities that exist for their futures in this area, and to give back to the community through community volunteer service.

Throughout the school year, these students get to tour various businesses around the area and one of those stopovers just happens to be at the KICKS 105 Studios.  We teach them about radio and mass communication and of course, we talk to them on the radio.  Below are two edited segments of those interviews.

Segment One


Segment Two



Here's the 2013-14 Leadership Tomorrow Class

  • Alli Bartlett - Lufkin High School
  • Travis Carrell - Huntington High School
  • Reed Glass - Hudson High School
  • Delayna Harper - Zavalla High School
  • Connor Lankford - Hudson High School
  • Kaitlyn Mundt - Lufkin High School
  • Jasmine Pitones - Diboll High School
  • John Portwood - Lufkin High School
  • Paul Spore - Lufkin High School
  • Victoria Viet - Lufkin High School
  • Madison Young - Central High School
  • Brittany Bell - Lufkin High School
  • Josh Davis - Lufkin High School
  • Nikki Gesford - Lufkin High School
  • Kelly Haney - Lufkin High School
  • Lexi Hodges - Diboll High School
  • Maci Moore - Lufkin High School
  • Kade Owens - Central High School
  • Nichole Phillips - Central High School
  • Kameron Risby - Hudson High School
  • Jesse Thompson - Huntington High School