Six Angelina County Drug-Free All Stars were recently presented scholarships by The Coalition.  Several community sponsors stepped up to help make these scholarships possible. The six scholarship recipients were selected for their commitment to promoting a drug-free lifestyle to their community and their involvement in the program throughout the year.

Kicks 105 logo
Get our free mobile app

The 2020-2021 Drug-Free All Stars went above and beyond to promote a drug-free lifestyle to their community through an unprecedented year. The All Stars used many different resources to share drug-free message this year, including social media posts, podcasts, videos, and school presentations.

Contributed Photo/The Coalition
Contributed Photo/The Coalition

The six Drug-Free All Stars selected to receive a scholarship were Emma Airington, graduate of Hudson High School; Jazmine Jamison, graduate of Hudson High School; Dulce Velasquez, graduate of Lufkin High School; Natalie Lopez, graduate of Diboll High School; Julissa Montoya, graduate of Diboll High School; and Madilyn Simmons, graduate of Pineywoods Community Academy.

The community partners who made these scholarships possible include Southside Bank, Southwood Drive Animal Clinic, Charanza Law Firm, Morgan Insurance/Bartlett, Baggett, & Shands, KSWP/KAVX radio stations, Contractor’s Supplies, Inc., Carroway Funeral Home, Whataburger/GVCS, and East Texas Asphalt. The Coalition would like to thank these businesses for their continued support of this program.

Since 1988, The Coalition, based in Lufkin, has focused on eliminating the use of harmful substances by affecting public policy, laws, attitudes and behaviors, all in an effort to foster healthy life-long choices for the local community.

For more information about the Drug-Free All Star program, contact Abby Baker at The Coalition at 936-634-9308.

Coalition Scholarship Winners



More From Kicks 105