Kathy Jost, Executive Director of PK-5 Teaching & Learning in Lufkin ISD, has been named the 2024 Region 7 TEPSAN of the Year by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA).

Region 7 includes schools in Angelina, San Augustine, and Sabine Counties, as well as many other school districts to the north. Jasper, Tyler, Polk, Trinity, and Houston County schools are not included within Region 7.

"Lufkin ISD is incredibly fortunate to have Kathy Jost as a leader who serves with dedication, vision and commitment to excellence," Shelly Slaton, assistant superintendent of education services and accountability, said. "Kathy’s leadership is marked by integrity, empathy, and a genuine concern for the well-being of each individual. Her unwavering commitment to our students and to this district is truly inspiring and sharing in her recognition as the Region 7 TEPSAN of the Year is an honor."

Award recipients must be committed to advancing the principalship and the association as well as serving as a voice for Texas students. Honorees will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards Dinner on June 12 at the Round Rock Kalahari.

“Kathy lends her time and expertise to support Texas PK-8 leaders and ensure student success. We are proud to recognize her dedication and work on behalf of the Association,” said TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart.

TEPSA, whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member-owned and member-governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of more than 3 million PK-8 school children. Learn more at www.tepsa.org.

KICKS 105/Whataburger Teacher of the Day $1,000 Winners

Every semester KICKS 105 teams up with Whataburger to award an area teacher a $1,000 classroom grant. Here's a look at the winning teachers so far.

Gallery Credit: Danny Merrell

More From Kicks 105