Kicks 105 logo
Get our free mobile app

The Lufkin Independent School District recently celebrated a milestone for nearly twenty students at Lufkin Early College High School. It was cookies and ice cream for all as these students are preparing to graduate with an Associate of Arts from Angelina College this spring (in addition to graduating from Lufkin High School).

Pictured below are the students that completed their application for graduation.

Lufkin ISD/Andy Adams
Lufkin ISD/Andy Adams

Front Row:

Vanessa Villanueva, Carina Flores, Alexandra Alvarado, Jayleen Ortega, Susana De la Paz, Re’Uana Malone, Julissa Ramirez, Monserrat Lopez and Dania Amador

Back Row:

Aaron McMillian, Mateo Aguirre, Kevin Espinoza, Horacio Aguilar, Marco Dominguez, Oscar Solis, Humberto Rodriguez , James Adams, Michael Teer and Christian Crain

Lufkin Early College High School has just under 500 students for the 2022-2023 school year. As a TEA-designated Early College High School, its goals continue to be the increase in college awareness, preparedness, and success of Lufkin students to positively impact the community's future workforce.

Lufkin ISD, partnering with Angelina College, is committed to increasing post-secondary educational opportunities for low-income students of color and first-generation college-goers as well as those identified At Risk by the Texas Education Agency PEIMS indicators.

The accelerated success and supports offered by the ECHS allow students to graduate high school college/career ready with the opportunity to gain up to 60 college hours toward an Associate of Arts in General Studies, Texas Core Curriculum, or Certificate program while receiving a high school diploma at the same time.

The Angelina College Commencement Ceremony is set for Saturday, May 13th at 10:00 a.m.

Lufkin High School’s graduation will be held on Friday, May 26th at 8:00 p.m.

KICKS 105/Whataburger Teacher of the Day $1,000 Winners

Every semester KICKS 105 teams up with Whataburger to award an area teacher a $1,000 classroom grant. Here's a look at the winning teachers so far.

More From Kicks 105